Facebook Preparing To Move The Old Groups To The New Group Format
Here we go folks. The day the Gamers & Mafia Wars Families were dreading is coming soon. The Old groups are being migrated into the new groups format.
Yes you heard me right the old groups we love so much are going to change over to the new format that we are not crazy about. No exact date has been release yet but it is coming soon as Facebook has already started to update the help center with the migration FAQ.
Here is what they are saying on it.
When your old group gets archived, it will be converted to the new groups format. Almost everything from your old group will be available in the archived group, with a few exceptions.
Things that will be available in the archived version include:
- Group photos and Wall posts
- Group discussion threads, which become Wall posts
- The group description, which can be found at the top of the page when you click “See All” members in the new group
Things that will NOT be available in the archived version include:
- Recent news
- Group officer titles
- The info box under the old group picture
- The group network
- The members of your old group. You can still add new members by clicking “Add Friends to Group.”
If you would like to preserve any of this information, it’s recommended that you save it before your group is archived.
Keep in mind that the new groups format was designed to help you share with the small groups of people in your life. If you’ve been using your old group to promote your business, we recommend you create a page instead.
Here is some more info.
If you see a message at the top of an old group with the option to upgrade, simply click “Upgrade This Group” to upgrade to the new groups format. Members of the old group will also be given the option to ask the admin to upgrade. Note that it may take a few minutes or more before the content from your group is converted to the new format.
If you choose not to upgrade your group, or if you do not see an option to do so, the group will eventually be archived.
You can continue using your group after it is archived. However, since members of old groups will not migrate to archived groups, you will need to add new members.
Once the group is upgraded, members can:
- Chat with the whole group at once
- Share photo albums
- Poll the group with questions
- Connect off Facebook using a shared group email address
- Create group docs to share information
Members receive notifications about posts in the new group by default. Notification settings can easily be adjusted by clicking the Edit Settings button.
There is no more discussion section, you must go to creat a document and that basically becomes the discussion and it is very limited.
While you can have an NOW unlimited number of members in the group but the chat feature stops working after 250 members..
The groups still have the option of being open, closed or secret.
Anyone can add people to the new groups which limits your full control of it, but you can make it so admins approve members even if it is an open group.
You have to set up a group email to send message to members but it is limited to those who have the new Facebook message system. and stops working after 250 members.